Executive Directors


Landscape Architect

Liz is Principal Landscape Architect of Public City and has professional experience across Canada, the United States and Australia. A graduate of the University of Manitoba, she is the landscape architect of a number of well-known Winnipeg winter icons including Manitoboggan, Crokicurl, and Hygge House. Liz has taught design studios at the Universities of Toronto and Manitoba.  She was recently appointed to the Board of Directors of the Winnipeg Arts Council. In 2018, Liz founded Building Equality in Architecture Prairies to advance excellence and diversity across city-building professions in central Canada. 

Peter Sampson, MAA, OAA, AAA, FRAIC


Peter is Principal Architect of Public City and a Fellow of the Royal Architectural Institute of Canada.  Educated at McGill and the University of Toronto, he is the architect of a number of award-winning shipping container projects around Winnipeg and the soon-to-be-open Crescent Drive Park Pavilion and Cornish Library. He was a partnering architect of the University of Winnipeg’s Buhler Centre on Portage Avenue.  From 2001 to 2013, he taught design, technical, and research studios at the Universities of Waterloo, Toronto, and Manitoba. He has served on the Art City Board of Directors, the Canadian Architect Certification Board, and the Manitoba Association of Architects’ Council. 

Board of Directors

Jeff Palmer


Jaya Beange


Brandy O'Reilly

Communications &

Special Projects

Souk Xoumphonphackdy


Pablo Batista


Suzy Melo 

Landscape Architect

Richard Derksen


Tom Monteyne


Chris Wiebe

Architectural Designer

Nancy Maruca

Interior Designer

Past Board Members

Bhavana Bonde

Cora Eaton

Jason Robbins

Jennifer Wichar-Fast

Jim Wagner

Justin Lee

Marshall Kirton

Melissa McAlister

Russell Krepart 

Sean Radford

Shannon Baxter

Sharon Wohl

Stacy Dyck 

Stephanie Whitehouse

Susan Algie

©2021 by Storefront Manitoba Inc. Architecture Design Urbanism